Barrier lipid · An ingredient class — not a single line on an ingredient list
Silicone scar products: one of the most-used treatments there is, and Cochrane rated all of the evidence 'low' or 'very low'
A 2021 Cochrane review gathered 13 randomised trials. Sample sizes ran 10 to 60, and Cochrane rated all the evidence as low or very low certainty. Against no treatment, it is uncertain whether scar severity differs — the interval crosses zero — while pain may be slightly lower. And not one included study reported scar severity as rated by the participants themselves.
Last checked Sep 28, 2026
Start here
- What it is
Sheets of medical-grade silicone, and gels that dry into a thin film when applied. Kept over the scar.
- What it is used for
For raised scars — hypertrophic scars and keloids. Also used preventively over surgical wounds.
- How it is said to work
Covering the scar and stopping water leaving it is the mechanism most often cited. It is not about pressing it flat.
There are no numbers and no citations in this box. What has been established, and how far, is below.
At a glance
- In pregnancy
- Not established
- Irritation
- Minimal
- Daytime use
- ✓ Fine
- How well established
- Early research
- Concentration studied
- Not disclosed
- Length of the studies
- Not disclosed
Not a measurement — reported irritation grouped into five steps. It varies between people.
“Concentration studied” and “Length of the studies” are taken straight from the research on this page. They are not a recommended dose, and the figure for each finding is written out in the text.
This is not how large the effect is but how well confirmed it is. It shows the highest grade among the findings on this page.
Silicone scar products come in two forms — medical-grade silicone sheets, and silicone gels that dry into a thin film. Either way they are kept over a raised scar.
The subject of this page first.
The 2021 Cochrane review's background calls silicone gel sheeting 'one of the most commonly used treatments for hypertrophic scars'. And in the body it rated all of the evidence it gathered as low or very low certainty.
The most-used thing and the best-evidenced thing can be different — a sentence this site keeps writing, except here it was not us who wrote it. Cochrane did.
That does not mean silicone does nothing. This site keeps no evidence and no effect apart. But if you had been reading these products as the sure thing for scars, it is worth looking at where that certainty came from.
And here is the heaviest sentence Cochrane wrote. Among the 13 studies included, not one reported scar severity as rated by the participants, health-related quality of life, or cost effectiveness. A scar sits where people can see it, which makes how the person feels about it an important endpoint. That field is empty.
Four entries below.
Contents
What is established
The same ingredient at a different strength, in a different formula, is a different product. These are the conditions the studies used.
Against no treatment, it is uncertain whether scar severity differs
The 2021 Cochrane review. Searched to April 2021 across the Cochrane Wounds Specialised Register, CENTRAL, Ovid MEDLINE, Ovid Embase and EBSCO CINAHL Plus, plus trial registries for ongoing and unpublished studies. No restriction by language, year of publication or setting.
Inclusion was randomised controlled trials enrolling people with hypertrophic scars and assessing silicone gel sheeting. 13 studies met it, with sample sizes from 10 to 60.
This entry is the 'sheeting versus no sheeting' comparison. Seven studies with 177 participants went into it.
But only two of them, 31 participants (32 scars), reported scar severity assessed by health professionals.
Result: it is uncertain whether severity of scarring differs between the groups — mean difference −1.83 (95% CI −3.77 to 0.12). Cochrane graded this very low certainty and said why: downgraded once for risk of bias and twice for serious imprecision.
Look at the interval. −3.77 to 0.12. Silicone could have been considerably better, or slightly worse. It crosses zero.
How to read that.
First, 31 people. Seven studies with 177 participants entered this comparison, and only two reported the endpoint that matters most. Having done a study and having reported the result are different things.
Second, we carry Cochrane's own account of reporting quality across. Many trials reported their methodology poorly, so the risk of bias was unclear. Which is why Cochrane's conclusion says it is 'not confident that most trials are free from risk of bias'.
Third, the 13 studies are clinically heterogeneous — different durations of follow-up, different scar sites. Six had a split-site design, and three had an unclear design, producing a mix of paired and clustered data.
So it sits at 'not established'. Not that silicone does nothing — that this material does not distinguish it from doing nothing.
- Randomised controlled trial in people (2) · 31 participants · Compared with no treatment · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 34564840
Pain may be slightly lower
The same Cochrane review. In the same comparison (sheeting versus none), one study with 34 participants reported pain.
Result: silicone gel sheeting may result in a slight reduction in pain compared with no treatment — mean difference −1.26 (95% CI −2.26 to −0.26). Low certainty, downgraded once for risk of bias and once for imprecision.
There is also a comparison against pressure garments. One study with 54 participants: sheeting may reduce pain compared with pressure garments — mean difference −1.90 (95% CI −2.99 to −0.81), also low certainty.
Why we grade this differently from the entry above.
The interval does not cross zero. −2.26 to −0.26, both ends on silicone's side. Set it beside the −3.77 to 0.12 above. Same review, same comparison, different interval depending on the endpoint.
But pain is what the person reports. And whether participants were masked in these trials is not stated in the abstract. You know whether a sheet is stuck to you. So we mark this endpoint on the badge as 'self-reported improvement'.
And it is 34 people.
So it sits at 'early evidence'. Consistent in direction, small in size.
One place where this entry reads practically. Raised scars itch and hurt. Reducing that is a different kind of benefit from changing the shape of a scar, and in this review the interval on symptoms is cleaner than the one on shape.
- Randomised controlled trial in people (1) · 34 participants · Compared with no treatment · Funding not declared · Endpoint self-reported improvement PMID 34564840
Set against topical onion extract, silicone came out slightly ahead
The same Cochrane review, which compared sheeting against ten things — no sheeting, pressure garments, silicone gel, topical onion extract, polyurethane, propylene glycol and hydroxyethyl cellulose sheeting, Kenalog injection, pulsed-dye laser, intense pulsed light, and a silicone gel bandage.
This entry is the comparison against onion extract. One trial, 32 participants.
Result: sheeting may slightly reduce severity of scarring compared with topical onion extract — mean difference −1.30 (95% CI −2.58 to −0.02), low certainty.
Why we give that number its own entry.
Onion extract is one of the signature ingredients of scar products. And this comparison is the only head-to-head we found. The result: silicone won, the margin is small, and one end of the interval is −0.02 — all but touching zero.
The other comparisons, for completeness.
- against silicone gel — one trial, 32 participants, unclear whether it differs (MD 0.40, 95% CI −0.88 to 1.68, very low certainty). Sheet against gel was not separated.
- against polyurethane — one trial, 60 participants, unclear (MD 0.50, 95% CI −2.96 to 3.96)
- against propylene glycol and hydroxyethyl cellulose sheeting — one trial, 38 participants, uncertain on pain
- against a silicone gel bandage — one trial, 60 participants, unclear on pain
- against Kenalog injection, pulsed-dye laser and intense pulsed light — there was a lack of reportable data
Read that last line again. The comparison against intralesional corticosteroid was in the review, and there was not enough reported data to analyse it.
So it sits at 'early evidence'. The interval does not cross zero, but it is 32 people at low certainty.
- Randomised controlled trial in people (1) · 32 participants · Compared with another active ingredient · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 34564840
The review of applied silicone gel gives no numbers in its abstract
A 2026 systematic review and meta-analysis in Eur J Dermatol. This time about fluid silicone gel rather than sheeting.
Ovid MEDLINE, Embase, CINAHL and the Cochrane Library were searched under PRISMA, with 35 papers in the systematic review and 20 in the meta-analysis. Only randomised controlled trials were included, and silicone gel was compared against placebo, no treatment, silicone gel sheets and other conventionally used treatments.
That is a larger base than the Cochrane above: 35 papers, randomised trials only.
But the abstract gives no result figures.
What it says is that the review provides the efficacy of silicone gel fluids against different controls, presents the reported adverse effects, identifies gaps in current knowledge and provides a foundation for future studies. And that while silicone gel fluid is widely recognised as a leading non-invasive treatment, there is inconsistent evidence of superiority.
So the only thing we can carry across from this entry is that last sentence.
This site holds to not citing papers from memory and writing only what we verified. No numbers in the abstract means no numbers here. Which is why the participant field on the badge above is empty and the comparator field reads 'not stated' — several controls are named as a group, and we cannot pin down which.
Two reasons we include it anyway.
First, the existence of this review is itself information. A 35-paper review of randomised trials only appeared in 2026, and it summarised the position as 'inconsistent evidence of superiority'. That runs the same way as Cochrane's conclusion.
Second, to record that sheet and gel are different objects. The Cochrane above is about sheeting; this is about gel. And Cochrane's own 'sheet versus gel' comparison did not separate them in 32 people. Which is to say there is not yet an answer about which to use.
So it sits at 'not established'.
- Randomised controlled trial in people (20) · sample size not reported · Compared with not stated in the abstract · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 42183685
How to use it
- Time spent covered is the instruction for this product. Sheets have been used at 12 hours a day or more, for months. But the 13 studies in the Cochrane above had differing follow-up, and give no answer on the optimal duration.
- Start after the wound has closed. Not on open or weeping skin.
- Which of sheet and gel is better has not been settled. Cochrane's direct comparison did not separate them in 32 people. Whether it is a site you can keep something stuck to may be the practical criterion.
- Keeping the sun off is the common advice in scar care. Sunscreen is one of the items on this site carrying 'strong evidence'.
- A scar that has already grown, like a keloid, is not something to settle in this layer. Read the intralesional corticosteroid page alongside, and take the judgement to a clinician.
Cautions
- Itching, redness and eczema-like reactions are reported where a sheet has been kept on a long time. Cochrane noted adverse-event data were reported only in limited form by some included studies, so further analysis was not possible.
- Sweat can macerate the skin under it. More so in hot weather and in flexures.
- Faces and joints are hard places to keep something stuck to. For this product, the limit tends to arrive as sustainability before it arrives as efficacy.
- With children, care is needed that a sheet is not peeled off and swallowed.
- We could not find data on use in pregnancy. It is, however, a physical product kept on the skin.
- Cochrane rated all of the evidence low or very low certainty.
With a new ingredient, apply a small amount somewhere inconspicuous, such as the inner arm, for two days first. Stop if it reddens or stings.
Related skin concerns
What this article relies on
- PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16