Route · Injection
Botulinum toxin: the effect over placebo was clear in two phase 3 trials, both run by the manufacturer
In two phase 3 randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trials (730 participants in total), both the primary and key secondary endpoints were significantly better than placebo (P < .0001 for each). All 59 products registered in Korea are prescription-only.
Last checked Sep 16, 2026
Start here
- What it is
A purified protein made by the botulinum bacterium, injected into muscle in very small amounts. 'Botox' was originally one brand name and is now used for the whole family.
- What it is used for
Lines that fold when you make an expression, a jaw that looks square because the chewing muscle is thick, and underarm sweating.
- How it is said to work
It is said to block the release of the substance that tells a muscle to contract, reducing that muscle's pull. Nerves grow new branches over time, so the strength comes back — which is why the effect is not permanent.
There are no numbers and no citations in this box. What has been established, and how far, is below.
At a glance
- Session length
- 5–15 min
- Pain
- Mild
- Downtime
- 0–1 days
- Sessions
- Once
- How long it lasts
- 3–7 monthsReported in a trialIn the axillary hyperhidrosis trials the median duration of effect was 197 and 205 days, against 96 days on placebo. For wrinkles it is usually taken to last less than that.
- Relative cost
- Lower
- How well established
- Moderate evidence
“Reported in a trial” means a number a study on this page actually reported. “Typical range” is not a measured value but roughly how it is usually done, and it varies by clinic and by person.
Cost is not an amount but a band: where this procedure falls when the ones on this site are lined up per session, or per area treated. Real prices differ several-fold by clinic and by how much is treated, so they are not given here. Surgery is measured on a different scale and cannot be compared with this band.
This is not how large the effect is but how well confirmed it is. It shows the highest grade among the findings on this page.
Botulinum toxin temporarily blocks nerve signalling to muscle, softening the lines that expressions create. It is the best-evidenced procedure on this site.
And yet it sits at moderate. One reason: the trials we verified are the manufacturer's own product-registration trials. This site's criteria for strong evidence cannot be met on manufacturer funding alone.
It is not that trials are scarce here; there are many. It is that what we checked and registered is that one paper covering two trials, and its funding is not in doubt.
What is established
Upper facial lines: significantly better than placebo in two phase 3 trials
Two phase 3 trials (ULTRA I and ULTRA II) in adults aged 18 and over. Participants with moderate-to-severe glabellar, forehead and lateral canthal lines at maximum contraction were randomised 2:1:1 to up to 64 units of incobotulinumtoxinA or placebo.
Three hundred sixty-two and 368 people respectively — 730 in total — received treatment. In both studies the treatment was significantly more effective than placebo on the primary endpoints and the key secondary endpoints (P < .0001 for each). Results in the open-label extension were consistent.
Assessment used investigator ratings on five-point scales. That the endpoint is a trained assessor's score rather than self-reported improvement makes this result sturdier.
What remains is funding. These are a manufacturer's registration trials, and that is why this entry sits at moderate.
- Randomised controlled trial in people (2) · 730 participants · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding manufacturer-funded · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 39475143 · abstract read
Axillary hyperhidrosis — and 25% of the placebo group improved too
A different indication from wrinkles. And the evidence here is thicker than on the wrinkle side.
A 2007 North American multicentre study followed 322 subjects for 52 weeks, double-blind. Participants were randomised to botulinum toxin type A at 75 U or 50 U per axilla, or to placebo.
The results.
- Reaching a 2-point improvement on the 4-point Hyperhidrosis Disease Severity Scale (HDSS): 75% in the 75-U group, 75% in the 50-U group, 25% in the placebo group (P < .001)
- The finding was corroborated by gravimetric measurement — actually weighing the sweat
- Median duration of effect: 197 days at 75 U, 205 days at 50 U, 96 days on placebo
Two things have to be read together.
One, 75 U and 50 U came out the same. The response rate was 75% in both, and the duration was in fact longer at the lower dose (205 days against 197). Raising the dose by half did not separate the results.
Two, 25% of the placebo group reached a 2-point improvement, and it lasted 96 days. One in four people injected with something inert dropped two steps on a severity scale, and stayed there for over three months.
What that figure means on this site: on other procedure pages we write, repeatedly, that without a control group the treatment's own contribution cannot be known. Here it is there in numbers — the gap between 75% and 25% is the drug's share, and the 25% is the share of the needle, the expectation and the passage of time.
A 2026 phase 3, multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study in Chinese patients looked at the same indication. We could not verify the participant count from the abstract, so that field is left blank.
The limits, too. The authors of the 2007 trial state that the effect of total surface area involvement was not evaluated, and both trials are manufacturer-funded. So by this site's rule it does not rise to 'strong evidence' — the deoxycholic acid page applies the same rule.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · 322 participants · 52 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding manufacturer-funded · Endpoint clinical events (cancers, lesion counts) PMID 17306417 · abstract read
- Randomised controlled trial in people · sample size not reported · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding manufacturer-funded · Endpoint clinical events (cancers, lesion counts) PMID 41553927 · abstract read
All 59 products registered in Korea are prescription-only
The Korean drug register lists 59 products with botulinum toxin as the active ingredient, all prescription-only (checked 16 September 2026). Products such as Nabota (Clostridium botulinum toxin type A) are among them.
It requires a doctor's prescription and a procedure. This page does not cover units, injection sites or intervals — those are settled in consultation.
It did not change the shape of a keloid, and pain and itch got better
A 2019 double-blind controlled pilot study in Dermatol Ther, from Iran. It is the same trial as on the intralesional corticosteroid page — do not count it as two badges.
20 patients with a cumulative 40 keloids completed it.
- one arm — intralesional triamcinolone alone
- the other — intralesional triamcinolone plus botulinum toxin A
The result split in two.
- shape — no significant difference between the arms in height, vascularisation, pliability and pigmentation scores
- symptoms — the arm with botulinum toxin added was significantly better than triamcinolone alone for pain and pruritus (p < 0.001)
Now how to read it.
First, this entry's endpoint is what the patients felt. Pain and itch are what a person tells you. This site marks that as 'self-reported', and an endpoint like that on its own does not raise a grade. So even with a p < 0.001 attached, this entry stops at 'early evidence'.
Second, but there is no reason to think the result small either. With keloids, pain and itch are often the very reason someone comes to a clinic. If it hurts and itches less while the shape stays the same, that is a meaningful change. When this site writes that self-assessment is a weak endpoint, it does not mean the figure does not matter; it means it measures something different.
Third, the paper's title speaks for the other side. It reads 'Intralesional triamcinolone alone or in combination with botulinum toxin A is ineffective for the treatment of formed keloid scar.' That is, a title set by the shape results.
And that title needs care: this trial has no untreated control. Both arms received steroid. That is set out on the intralesional corticosteroid page.
The sentence this page can write is this: when botulinum toxin was added to a keloid that was already receiving steroid, the shape did not change and the symptoms improved.
Fourth, 20 patients, and the authors called it a pilot study. With 40 keloids there are more lesions than people.
Fifth, the abstract does not state the duration.
Sixth, the authors' conclusion is 'it should be used adjuvantly'. They write that future studies should be performed in the adjuvant setting after excision.
So it sits at 'early evidence'. Do not read it as the same badge as this page's other entries — expression lines and sweating. What holds them up is not of the same thickness.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · 20 participants · Compared with another active ingredient · Funding not declared · Endpoint self-reported improvement PMID 30422367 · abstract read
Known risks
- Pain, swelling and bruising at the injection site are common.
- Eyelid droop, changes in brow position and facial asymmetry are reported. These usually resolve, but it can take weeks to months.
- Headache and flu-like symptoms are reported.
- Rarely, toxin spread beyond the injection site affecting swallowing or breathing has been reported. If you have difficulty swallowing or breathing, seek care immediately.
- If you have a neuromuscular condition, say so before the procedure.
What is not established
- The long-term effects of repeated treatment are not established. Muscle atrophy and resistance are both discussed.
- Units differ between products and do not convert between them. Comparisons between products are not covered here.
- How long the effect lasts varies considerably between people.
Whether to have it done is a decision to make with a doctor.
What this article relies on
Unless marked otherwise, a paper was read to the abstract. Only papers whose full text we opened are marked as such.
- 의약품안전나라 — 의약품등 정보검색 (품목 허가사항)식품의약품안전처 · Checked on 2026-09-16
- PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16