Home
Ingredient Beauty Benefits

Route · Device-based

Cryotherapy: one trial was terminated early because the outcomes were worse than expected

Cryotherapy for keloids. A 2018 Dutch randomised controlled trial was terminated prematurely after 26 patients — the reason written in the abstract is 'unexpectedly inferior outcomes after intralesional cryotherapy'. For resistant keloids, excision followed by brachytherapy significantly improved scar appearance and itch and pain, while cryotherapy did not. In another trial it tied with CO2 laser — but both arms also had steroid injections.

Last checked Sep 29, 2026

Start here

What it is

Destroying tissue by freezing it. Either sprayed on the surface or frozen from within through a needle probe.

What it is used for

For keloids and hypertrophic scars.

How it is said to work

Freezing and thawing is said to damage cells and microvessels so that the tissue shrinks.

There are no numbers and no citations in this box. What has been established, and how far, is below.

At a glance

Session length
10–30 min
Pain
Very painful
Downtime
7–21 days
Sessions
1–3 sessionsReported in a trialThe 2016 trial froze once on day 1 and then added steroid injections every four weeks for three months. It is not a trial of repeated freezing alone.
How long it lasts
Not applicable
Relative cost
Lower
How well established
Moderate evidence

“Reported in a trial” means a number a study on this page actually reported. “Typical range” is not a measured value but roughly how it is usually done, and it varies by clinic and by person.

Cost is not an amount but a band: where this procedure falls when the ones on this site are lined up per session, or per area treated. Real prices differ several-fold by clinic and by how much is treated, so they are not given here. Surgery is measured on a different scale and cannot be compared with this band.

This is not how large the effect is but how well confirmed it is. It shows the highest grade among the findings on this page.

Korean classification Being checkedThe regulatory class has not yet been confirmed against a primary document. It will be filled in once it is.

Cryotherapy destroys tissue by freezing it. It is used for keloids and hypertrophic scars. There are two approaches.

  • spray — liquid nitrogen applied to the surface
  • intralesional — a needle-shaped probe placed inside the scar, freezing it from within

This page carries a kind of entry that has not appeared on this site before — a trial terminated early.

Trials stop early for several reasons: money runs out, patients do not come, or the result is so good that continuing seems unfair to the control arm. This one stopped for none of those.

Here is the sentence from the abstract — the trial was prematurely terminated after inclusion of 26 patients due to unexpectedly inferior outcomes after intralesional cryotherapy.

Power analysis said 33 patients were needed in each group. It stopped at 26.

That is why this site puts this entry first. The badge grade is low, but the page can say that the low grade means not 'not measured yet' but 'measured, then stopped'.

And the second entry tells a different story. In a 60-person trial in India, cryotherapy tied with CO2 laser. But both arms also received steroid injections, so that trial does not tell you what cryotherapy does by itself.

The other places this site covers for keloids are intralesional corticosteroid, silicone scar products and laser-assisted drug delivery.

This site does not deal in prices, clinics or reviews.

What is established

Not established

The trial was terminated early because the outcomes were worse than expected

A 2018 report in J Plast Reconstr Aesthet Surg from Erasmus MC and others in the Netherlands. It reports two multicentre, randomised, controlled, open trials.

The two trials asked different questions.

  • primary keloids — intralesional cryotherapy versus excision + corticosteroid injections
  • therapy-resistant keloids — intralesional cryotherapy versus excision + brachytherapy

The primary outcome was scar appearance assessed with the Patient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS). Secondary outcomes were patient-reported quality of life (Skindex-29, SF-36, EQ-5D-5L), recurrence rates and scar volume reduction. Power analysis indicated 33 patients in each group were needed.

And the first sentence of the results is the content of this entry.

The trial was prematurely terminated after inclusion of 26 patients due to unexpectedly inferior outcomes after intralesional cryotherapy.

The rest of the results, as written.

  • for primary keloids no convincing difference between treatments was found. But surgery improved scar appearance while cryotherapy did not.
  • for resistant keloids, excision followed by brachytherapy significantly improved scar appearance (POSAS) and scar symptoms (itch and pain) (p < 0.001, p < 0.001 and p = 0.006 respectively). Cryotherapy did not.
  • neither treatment caused indisputable improvements in quality of life.

Conclusion: intralesional cryotherapy is inferior to keloid excision followed by brachytherapy for resistant keloids. In primary keloids, intralesional cryotherapy reduced keloid volume and therefore may be used in these patients and specific cases. Primary keloid group size was too small to draw valid conclusions; further research on the efficacy of intralesional cryotherapy for primary keloids is warranted.

Now how to read it.

First, read the early termination precisely. The trial stopped because the investigators judged one arm's outcomes to be poor. That is strong information. It is also weak information — stopping means the planned numbers were not reached, which lowers the precision of the conclusion.

Second, the authors wrote both sides of that. For resistant keloids they wrote plainly inferior; for primary keloids they wrote that the group size was too small to draw valid conclusions. Within one paper they drew a conclusion on one arm and declined to on the other. This site carries that distinction across as it is.

Third, volume did fall. For primary keloids the authors wrote that cryotherapy reduced keloid volume. Yet it did not improve scar appearance (POSAS). The distinction this site keeps returning to appears here too — measuring and looking can come apart. Volume can fall without it looking better.

Fourth, these were open trials. Surgery and cryotherapy cannot be masked. And the primary outcome includes self-assessment (the patient part of POSAS).

Fifth, the abstract does not state the follow-up period. So the duration field on the badge above is empty.

Sixth, what this trial compared was not cryotherapy against doing nothing. It compared it against surgery. So whether cryotherapy beats doing nothing is not something this trial says.

So it sits at 'not established'. But here that badge means not 'it has not been measured' but 'it was being measured and stopped, and the reason was the result'.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 26 participants · Compared with another active ingredient · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 29426811
Moderate evidence

It tied with CO2 laser — but both arms had steroid injections

A 2016 randomised controlled trial in Dermatol Surg from JIPMER, India.

60 patients with 101 keloids were randomised into two groups. On day 1 the keloids were ablated with either CO2 laser or cryotherapy, and then both groups had intralesional triamcinolone injected at baseline and at four-week intervals for three months. They were followed for 12 months.

The results. Rates of successful therapeutic response (more than 50% improvement), CO2 versus cryotherapy.

  • reduction in thickness — 55.55% vs 70.37%
  • reduction in volume — 61.1% vs 77.8%
  • patient's self-assessment — 75% vs 77.78%
  • observer's assessment — 61.12% vs 85.18%
  • Vancouver Scar Scale — 52.78% vs 62.96%
  • and at 12 months the difference in therapeutic response between the two groups was not statistically significant

Conclusion: both CO2 laser and cryotherapy in combination with intralesional triamcinolone were found to be equally effective in the treatment of keloids.

Now how to read it.

First, all five figures look higher on the cryotherapy side. Observer assessment especially: 61% against 85%. And yet it was not significant. Numbers leaning one way without separating statistically is common, and this site does not turn a visible lean into a conclusion. These are figures from 60 people.

Second, and this matters more — both arms had steroid injections. Intralesional triamcinolone at four-week intervals for three months. Intralesional corticosteroid is a method this site already covers for keloids.

So what this trial shows is 'there was no difference between putting a CO2 laser in front and putting cryotherapy in front', not 'cryotherapy reduces keloids'. A substantial part of the improvement may belong to the steroid.

This site drew the same distinction on the pycnogenol, N-acetyl glucosamine and laser-assisted drug delivery pages. 'What was it added on top of' is a recurring question here.

Third, 12 months of follow-up. The longest period on this page, and that matters for keloids — recurrence is a common problem.

Fourth, 60 people with 101 lesions. There are more lesions than people. Counting several keloids in one person separately can inflate the statistics. How the abstract handled that is not stated.

Fifth, it was randomised but the abstract says nothing about masking. Whether the observer assessment was blinded is unknown. We do not invent it.

So it sits at 'moderate'. Good conditions — 60 people, 12 months — but both arms had steroid, and the masking is unclear.

Put the two entries side by side and you can see where this procedure sits. Against surgery and radiotherapy it came out inferior; alongside CO2 laser it tied — but in the trial where it tied, both sides were having steroid injections.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 60 participants · 52 weeks · Compared with another active ingredient · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 27661432

Known risks

  • Pigment is lost. The characteristic problem of cryotherapy. The cells that make melanin are vulnerable to cold, so the treated area can be left white, and sometimes it does not come back. The darker the skin, the more this matters.
  • Blisters form. Common in the freeze-thaw process, and uncomfortable for days.
  • It hurts. The intralesional route especially, since a probe goes inside the scar. Anaesthesia is needed.
  • Healing takes time. Frozen tissue sloughs off, so an open wound can remain for weeks.
  • A keloid can come back. Recurrence is a common problem with keloids. That is why the 2016 trial followed for 12 months.
  • Sensation can change. Nerve endings can be damaged by cold.
  • Keloids are something to handle in a clinic. What to do first and what to combine it with depends on the keloid's site, size and past treatment. This site does not recommend an order of treatment.

What is not established

  • We could not find a trial comparing cryotherapy against doing nothing. Both trials above compare it against another treatment.
  • The 2018 trial stopped without reaching its planned numbers. For primary keloids the authors themselves wrote that valid conclusions could not be drawn.
  • The 2018 trial's follow-up period is not in the abstract.
  • Whether spray or intralesional is better — a small 2016 comparison points to the intralesional route, but we did not carry that trial as a badge.
  • Whether the 2016 trial was masked is not in the abstract.
  • How common pigment loss is in darker skin, in numbers, is not on this page. It is the figure one most wants for this procedure.
  • Other uses, such as warts, are not covered here. This page is the keloid side.
  • We have not yet opened the primary Korean regulatory classification, so it stays 'being verified'.

Whether to have it done is a decision to make with a doctor.

What this article relies on

  1. PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16