Humectant · Acetyl Glucosamine
N-acetyl glucosamine: the trials are sound, both are from the maker, and the big one is a combination
In a double-blind, vehicle-controlled trial in 202 women, all four measures were significantly better (P < 0.05). But what that trial looked at was 2% NAG together with 4% niacinamide. A trial of NAG alone exists, but its abstract gives no participant count. And both trials list a manufacturer among the authors' affiliations — so they cannot pass this site's condition for 'strong evidence' at all.
Last checked Sep 29, 2026
Start here
- What it is
An amino sugar: glucosamine with an acetyl group attached. Also used as a water-binding ingredient.
- What it is used for
For uneven pigmentation, most often in products that also contain niacinamide.
- How it is said to work
It is said to slow one step in how pigment is made.
There are no numbers and no citations in this box. What has been established, and how far, is below.
At a glance
- In pregnancy
- Not established
- Irritation
- Minimal
- Daytime use
- ✓ Fine
- How well established
- Moderate evidence
- Concentration studied
- 2%
- Length of the studies
- 8–10 weeks
Not a measurement — reported irritation grouped into five steps. It varies between people.
“Concentration studied” and “Length of the studies” are taken straight from the research on this page. They are not a recommended dose, and the figure for each finding is written out in the text.
This is not how large the effect is but how well confirmed it is. It shows the highest grade among the findings on this page.
N-acetyl glucosamine (NAG) is an amino sugar, glucosamine with an acetyl group attached. Glucosamine itself has stability limitations, which is why the stable derivative NAG is used, as the paper states.
This page has a well-designed trial on it. And two things have to be written before it.
First, the larger trial is a combination. The 10-week trial in 202 people looked at a formulation containing 2% NAG and 4% niacinamide together. Niacinamide is an ingredient that already carries evidence on this site. So how much of that trial's result belongs to NAG is not something the design can say.
Second, both trials list a manufacturer among the authors' affiliations. Procter & Gamble. This site marks funding as industry, public or unclear, and 'strong evidence' is not attached when all the trials are industry-funded. This entry is caught on that condition already.
This does not mean 'the result is false'. It is double-blind, vehicle-controlled, and 202 people. That is not a common size among the ingredient pages here. But this site puts who ran the trial on the badge, and caps the grade by that value.
On pigmentation, the items with thicker evidence here are tranexamic acid, thiamidol and azelaic acid.
Contents
What is established
The same ingredient at a different strength, in a different formula, is a different product. These are the conditions the studies used.
The combination with niacinamide beat vehicle on all four measures
A 2010 trial in Br J Dermatol. Ten weeks, double-blind, vehicle-controlled, full-face, parallel-group.
It was conducted in women aged 40 to 60, and after a two-week washout they used one of two daily regimens.
- test formulation, 101 people — a morning SPF 15 sunscreen lotion and an evening cream, both containing 4% niacinamide + 2% NAG
- vehicle control, 101 people — the vehicles of the same lotion and cream
The assessment is this entry's strength. Digital photographs at 0, 4, 6 and 8 weeks were evaluated in four ways.
- algorithm-based computer image analysis for coloured spot area fraction
- expert visual grading
- non-contact SIAscopy for melanin spot area fraction
- and, the same way, melanin chromophore evenness
Result: by all four measures the NAG + niacinamide regimen was significantly (P < 0.05) more effective than the vehicle control in reducing the detectable area of facial spots and the appearance of pigmentation.
Now how to read it.
First, 202 people. A rare size among the ingredient pages here. And it is double-blind and vehicle-controlled.
Second, it was measured by instrument. Not only visual grading but computer image analysis and SIAscopy values. So the endpoint is marked 'instrument'. On the distinction this site keeps returning to — measuring versus looking — this is the measuring side.
Third, but it is a combination. That is this entry's largest limit. 4% niacinamide is in there too. And the paper itself introduces niacinamide as 'an agent previously shown to be clinically active'. Which is to say, a formulation with NAG added on top of something already known to work was compared against vehicle.
So what the trial shows is 'this combination beats vehicle', not 'NAG does this much'. This site drew the same distinction on the pycnogenol page.
Fourth, the morning product contained SPF 15. It was in both arms, so it is not what made the difference. But remember that in pigmentation, sunscreen is not background but a condition.
Fifth, the funding. Procter & Gamble appears among the authors' affiliations. This site marks that as industry funding. And 'strong evidence' here is not attached when all the trials are industry-funded. Since both are, this ingredient's badge stops in the middle structurally.
Sixth, eight weeks of use in a ten-week trial. Nothing past that was looked at.
So it sits at 'moderate'. The size, the design and the instrument measurement are good; being a combination and the funding set the ceiling.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · 202 participants · 10 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding manufacturer-funded · Endpoint instrument measurement PMID 19845667
There is a trial of it alone — but the abstract gives no participant count
A 2007 trial in J Cosmet Dermatol. This entry partly covers the problem that the one above looked only at a combination.
The paper reports three things.
First, cell culture data. Glucosamine has been reported to inhibit melanin production, which is the starting point for a possible topical use. This site does not count cell culture as a result in people.
Second, skin penetration. Franz cell testing found NAG to be a good skin penetrant. That is in-vitro material.
Third, the trial in people. This is the body of the entry.
- 8 weeks, double-blind, placebo-controlled, left-right randomised, split-face
- topical 2% NAG reduced the appearance of facial hyperpigmentation
And in a second study it reports that adding 4% niacinamide to 2% NAG gave a greater effect on hyperpigmentation. The entry above is the large trial in that direction.
Now how to read it.
First, the design is good. Left-right randomised split-face compares within one person, so age, skin and daily life cancel out. It is double-blind and placebo-controlled.
Second, but the abstract gives no participant count. How many took part is not there. We do not invent it. That is why the participant field on the badge above is empty. And without the number, the weight of the result cannot be read.
Third, what the endpoint was is also unclear in the abstract. It says only that it 'reduced the appearance of hyperpigmentation'. Whether that was measured by instrument or graded by eye is not stated, so this site marks it conservatively as 'graded'.
Fourth, the funding. The authors' affiliation is Procter & Gamble. The paper concludes that NAG is 'a suitable cosmetic ingredient'. That sentence says what the paper was written for. This site does not hide that; it puts it on the badge.
Fifth, eight weeks.
So it sits at 'early evidence'. The design is good but there is no participant count, the endpoint is unclear, and the funding is industry.
Put the two entries side by side and you can see the shape of this ingredient's evidence. The solo trial has no participant count, the trial with a clear count is a combination, and both come from the same maker. That is why this site stops the badge in the middle.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · sample size not reported · 8 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding manufacturer-funded · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 17348991
How to use it
- The concentration in these trials was 2% NAG, and in the large one together with 4% niacinamide. This site does not estimate concentrations it has not read.
- Products containing it with niacinamide are common, and that combination is what the larger trial looked at. Nothing in this page's material gives a reason to seek them out separately.
- The morning product in the trial contained SPF 15. In pigmentation, sunscreen is a condition. Use it alongside.
- Judge over eight to ten weeks. That is the period the trials covered. A shorter run is hard to judge on.
- It is also used as a water-binding ingredient. But the badges on this page are about the pigmentation results.
- For thicker evidence on pigmentation, tranexamic acid, thiamidol and azelaic acid come first here.
Cautions
- Both trials reported that it was well tolerated by the skin. But the tolerance information comes from industry-funded trials.
- Glucosamine supplements are a different subject. This page is the topical form. Material on oral glucosamine is not here.
- If you have a shellfish allergy, check where the raw material came from. Glucosamines are sometimes obtained from crustacean shells. Whether that matters in a topical form is unverified, but if you have the allergy, test a small area first.
- We found no data on use in pregnancy or breastfeeding.
- Uneven pigmentation has several causes. Melasma, post-inflammatory pigmentation and sun-driven spots are different and need different things. Start from the pigmentation page.
With a new ingredient, apply a small amount somewhere inconspicuous, such as the inner arm, for two days first. Stop if it reddens or stings.
Related skin concerns
What this article relies on
- PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16