Home
Ingredient Beauty Benefits

Route · Injection

Mesotherapy: the word names a way of injecting, not a substance

The two randomised trials we found injected different things — non-cross-linked hyaluronic acid (post-acne erythema, 25 people, split-face) and placenta polypeptide (sensitive skin, 156 people, multicentre). Both beat their control on their own endpoint, but the first does not state what the control side received, and the second was open-label against no treatment.

Last checked Sep 21, 2026

Start here

What it is

A way of injecting — small amounts, many times, into the shallow layers of the skin, with a fine needle.

What it is used for

Used for redness, sensitive skin, texture and much else. What goes in varies from case to case.

How it is said to work

The idea is that the substance injected acts directly inside the skin. But the word names the method, not the substance.

There are no numbers and no citations in this box. What has been established, and how far, is below.

At a glance

Session length
20–40 min
Pain
Moderate
Downtime
1–3 days
Sessions
3 sessionsReported in a trialBoth trials above used three sessions — at four-week and at 30-day intervals.
How long it lasts
3 monthsReported in a trialObservation in the trials above ends at 12 weeks and 90 days. Beyond that we have not verified.
Relative cost
Middle
How well established
Early research

“Reported in a trial” means a number a study on this page actually reported. “Typical range” is not a measured value but roughly how it is usually done, and it varies by clinic and by person.

Cost is not an amount but a band: where this procedure falls when the ones on this site are lined up per session, or per area treated. Real prices differ several-fold by clinic and by how much is treated, so they are not given here. Surgery is measured on a different scale and cannot be compared with this band.

This is not how large the effect is but how well confirmed it is. It shows the highest grade among the findings on this page.

Korean classification Being checkedThe regulatory class has not yet been confirmed against a primary document. It will be filled in once it is.

Start with the word. 'Mesotherapy' does not name what goes in.

It names a way of injecting: small amounts, many times, into the shallow layers of the skin with a fine needle. What is injected is decided separately — hyaluronic acid, vitamins, amino acids, or something else.

Which means the two trials on this page are in effect different procedures.

  • one injected non-cross-linked hyaluronic acid for post-acne erythema
  • one injected placenta polypeptide for sensitive skin

On the PRP page we wrote that the single word 'PRP' points at different things in different studies. Here the problem is larger. At least PRP starts from the same material — your own blood. Mesotherapy does not.

So on this page the sentence 'mesotherapy works' does not hold. What holds is 'this substance, put in this way, did this'.

And both trials have a weak comparator. We set each out below.

This site does not deal in prices, clinics or reviews.

What is established

Early research

It was split face to face in post-acne erythema — but what the other side got is not stated

A 2026 trial at Beijing Friendship Hospital, Capital Medical University. Split-face, prospective, randomised, single-centre.

25 people aged 18 to 35 with clinically diagnosed post-acne erythema (PAE) and bilaterally symmetrical lesions enrolled; 23 completed all sessions.

  • three sessions at four-week intervals, over 12 weeks
  • what was injected is non-cross-linked hyaluronic acid
  • the primary outcome is the Clinician Erythema Assessment Scale (CEAS) at week 12 against baseline

There are many secondary endpoints — Dermatology Life Quality Index, patient self-assessment, VISIA analysis (red areas, pores, texture), instrument measures (erythema index, melanin index, hydration, transepidermal water loss), dermoscopic imaging, adverse effects, relapse.

Results:

  • at week 12 the mesotherapy side had significantly lower CEAS scores than the control side
  • satisfaction was higher, and improvements in red areas, pores, texture, erythema index, hydration, water loss and dermoscopic findings were more marked
  • there was a significant change in DLQI too
  • no serious adverse events and no erythema flares, and one of the 23 had an acne relapse

How to read it.

First, and this matters most — the abstract does not state what the control side received. It says only 'the control group'. Whether saline went in, whether a needle went in with nothing, or whether nothing was done at all, we cannot tell.

That difference changes the conclusion a great deal. If the comparison was against nothing, how much of the improvement belongs to the hyaluronic acid and how much to a needle having gone in cannot be told apart. We do not guess at what we do not know, so the comparator field on the badge reads 'not stated'.

Second, split-face is a good design. Comparing two sides of the same person cancels out age, skin and habits. That is this trial's strength.

Third, 23 people, one centre.

Fourth, the endpoint is a score a person assigns. CEAS is rated by a clinician, and the abstract does not say whether that assessor was masked.

So it sits at 'early evidence'. There is something good in the design, and without knowing what the control was we cannot write more than that.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 25 participants · 12 weeks · Compared with not stated in the abstract · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 42087402
Not established

In sensitive skin it is 156 people across centres — open-label, against no treatment

A 2026 multicentre trial in China, including Peking Union Medical College Hospital.

156 adults with moderate-to-severe sensitive skin were randomised 2:1.

  • PPI arm — mesotherapy with placenta polypeptide injection, three sessions 30 days apart, 4 mL each, over 90 days
  • control armno treatment

The primary endpoint was change in total facial skin haemoglobin content, measured by a 3D skin analysis system as a proxy for cutaneous inflammation.

Results (full analysis set of 154: 103 PPI, 51 control):

  • at day 90 the reduction in haemoglobin content was significantly greater than control — mean change −1705.82 ± 1808.17 against −756.65 ± 1493.17 (P = 0.001)
  • on GAIS, 88.9% against 5.9% were rated 'improved' to 'very much improved' (P < 0.001)
  • adverse events 5.8% against 9.6% (P = 0.376), none serious

How to read it.

First, it is open-label. Participants and investigators both know which arm they are in. And the control arm received nothing.

In that combination, 88.9% against 5.9% on GAIS cannot be read at face value. One group came in three times and was injected; the other did nothing. Ask 'did it improve?' in that situation and the fact of having been injected enters the answer. It is the problem we set out repeatedly on PRP and GHK-Cu.

Second, the primary endpoint at least came from an instrument — haemoglobin content on a 3D analysis system. Though in an unmasked design the conditions of an instrument measurement (light, angle, timing) can drift too.

Third, look at the spread. Mean change −1705.82 with a standard deviation of 1808.17 — larger than the mean. Results varied enormously between people.

Fourth, the sponsor supplied both the product and the funding — Guizhou Taibang Biological Products. The paper states the sponsor was not involved in design, collection, analysis, interpretation or writing. We mark this on the badge as 'industry funding'.

So it sits at 'not established'. 156 people across centres is a large size for this layer, and an open-label design against no treatment does not let that size do its work.

And we restate why this entry sits beside the one above. The two trials injected different substances. They share only the name 'mesotherapy'.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 156 participants · 13 weeks · Compared with no treatment · Funding manufacturer-funded · Endpoint instrument measurement PMID 41878549

Known risks

  • A needle goes in many times. Bruising, swelling, pain and redness are common.
  • The risk of infection remains.
  • The risks depend on what goes in. The two trials on this page used different substances, and different substances carry different risks. Find out what is being injected.
  • Unapproved substances being injected under the name 'mesotherapy' have been reported. This site does not deal in products, but we note this.
  • No serious adverse events occurred in the trials above. But they had 23 and 156 people, over 12 weeks and 90 days.
  • This is a clinical procedure.

What is not established

  • The name 'mesotherapy' covers procedures that differ. Even the two trials on this page injected different things. A result on one side cannot be carried across to the other.
  • Both trials have a weak comparator. One does not state what the control was; the other is open-label against no treatment.
  • We could not include a double-blind trial against a sham injection (saline).
  • How long it lasts is unverified. Observation ran 12 weeks and 90 days.
  • How many sessions is right — no settled data found. Both trials used three.
  • We have not yet opened the primary Korean regulatory classification, so it stays 'being verified'.

Whether to have it done is a decision to make with a doctor.

What this article relies on

  1. PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16