Home
Ingredient Beauty Benefits

Route · Injection

PRP: the masked raters found no difference; the participants did

In a trial that injected PRP into one cheek and sterile saline into the other, with both participants and raters masked, blinded dermatologists found no significant difference at any point out to six months. Yet the participants themselves rated the PRP side as significantly more improved at six months. Both results came from the same trial. On the scalp the answer came out differently — in two placebo-controlled half-head trials in hair loss, density rose more on the PRP side.

Last checked Sep 18, 2026

Start here

What it is

Your own blood is drawn, spun in a centrifuge, and the platelet-rich layer is injected back.

What it is used for

Skin rejuvenation and hair loss.

How it is said to work

It is said that the growth factors platelets release when there is a wound speed up repair. Because it is your own blood, what goes back in differs from person to person.

There are no numbers and no citations in this box. What has been established, and how far, is below.

At a glance

Session length
40–60 min
Pain
Moderate
Downtime
1–3 days
Sessions
3–4 sessions
How long it lasts
Not applicable
Relative cost
Middle
How well established
Moderate evidence

“Reported in a trial” means a number a study on this page actually reported. “Typical range” is not a measured value but roughly how it is usually done, and it varies by clinic and by person.

Cost is not an amount but a band: where this procedure falls when the ones on this site are lined up per session, or per area treated. Real prices differ several-fold by clinic and by how much is treated, so they are not given here. Surgery is measured on a different scale and cannot be compared with this band.

This is not how large the effect is but how well confirmed it is. It shows the highest grade among the findings on this page.

Korean classification Being checkedThe regulatory class has not yet been confirmed against a primary document. It will be filled in once it is.

PRP means drawing your own blood, spinning it down, collecting the platelet-rich layer and injecting it into the face. The idea is that growth factors released by platelets trigger a repair response in the skin.

This page occupies a special position on this site. The first trial below is the second properly inert-controlled trial in this whole layer (the first is IPL). Read through the other procedure pages and you will see it: almost every randomised trial in aesthetic medicine is product A versus product B, ending in 'no difference'. That design cannot separate 'both worked' from 'neither worked'.

Here the comparator was saline. So this trial yields a different kind of information from the other pages.

This page also covers two places — facial skin and the scalp. And the two do not give the same answer. On the face the masked raters found no difference; in two half-head trials in hair loss, density rose more on the PRP side. Why they diverge is written up in the last entry below.

This is not a cosmetic you apply. It is a clinical procedure, and this layer is kept separate from the ingredients layer.

What is established

Not established

Against saline, the masked raters found no difference

A randomised split-face trial published in JAMA Dermatology in 2018. The design is worth setting out in full.

  • 27 participants enrolled, 19 analysed, with photoaged skin
  • 3 mL of PRP injected intradermally into one cheek
  • Sterile normal saline into the other
  • Both the participants and the raters were blinded to which side was which

Comparing the two halves of one face automatically controls for age, skin condition and lifestyle. And the comparator was not another product with ingredients in it, but saline, which does nothing.

Blinded dermatologists graded four things — fine lines, mottled pigmentation, roughness and sallowness — at two weeks, three months and six months.

The result: no significant difference, on all four measures, at all three time points.

How to read this.

Nineteen is a small number. A small real difference could have been missed (a type II error). So the trial did not prove that 'PRP does not work'.

But it does show one thing. On the other procedure pages you will have read, repeatedly, that 'product A and product B improved equally'. In that design you cannot tell whether both sides improved because of the treatment, or because a needle went in and time passed. Here the needle went into both sides equally, and only one side had platelets in it. And there was no difference.

Worth noting too: 27 enrolled, 19 analysed. Where the other eight went matters when reading the result.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 27 participants · 26 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 30419125 · abstract read
Not established

Yet the participants said the PRP side improved more

This is the second result from the same trial. Not a new study — the same 19 people, the same faces.

At six months, participants rated the PRP side as significantly more improved.

The blinded doctors found no difference; the people themselves did. Same face, same two cheeks.

This is why this site labels the endpoint separately. The badge on the item above says 'graded by blinded assessors'; the badge here says 'self-reported'. Same trial, same people, opposite conclusions.

Which should you believe? We do not say either is false. But we do say plainly that the two endpoints measure different things.

  • A blinded rater's score measures change that is distinguishable in a photograph.
  • A self-rating measures what the person perceives. That includes expectation, memory and the day's lighting, along with the skin.

That the participants were also masked matters. It rules out the simple explanation that 'the expensive side looks better'. They did not know which side was PRP.

Which leaves two explanations: either there is real change that a doctor's eye does not catch but the person does, or over six months of comparing your own two cheeks, people tend to settle on a side. This trial cannot separate the two.

We record it as a result that makes you think about what satisfaction with an aesthetic procedure is actually made of.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 27 participants · 26 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint self-reported improvement PMID 30419125 · abstract read
Moderate evidence

Two systematic reviews are more favourable — and here is why

There are two systematic reviews of PRP, and both are more favourable than the trial above.

The 2020 review searched the Cochrane Library, MEDLINE, EMBASE and Scopus from inception to March 2019 for prospective trials and case series with ten or more patients. Twenty-four studies qualified, eight of them randomised controlled trials, representing 480 patients who received PRP.

The conclusion: based on physician global assessment, PRP monotherapy by injection was shown to induce at least temporary, modest improvement in facial skin appearance, texture and lines. Periorbital fine lines and pigmentation may also benefit. The authors chose the words 'at least temporarily' and 'modest'.

The 2021 review and meta-analysis confined itself to the periorbital area, gathering nineteen studies, and meta-analysed patient satisfaction among the randomised trials. The authors describe it as the first PRISMA-compliant meta-analysis of periorbital PRP.

Now set that beside the item above.

The reviews are more favourable because of the character of the studies they gathered. Sixteen of the 24 were not randomised, and even among the eight randomised trials, inert comparators such as saline are rare. Compare before and after without a control and the passage of time, expectation and even the season all get credited to the procedure.

Note also that the endpoint the 2021 meta-analysis pooled was patient satisfaction — the very endpoint that, in the item above, pointed the opposite way from the blinded raters.

That is why this item sits at 'moderate'. There is a fair amount of human evidence, but the results are split, and they are not split at random: they split systematically by design and by endpoint. A large body of evidence is not the same as a body of evidence that agrees.

  • Open-label trial in people (24) · 480 participants · Compared with not stated in the abstract · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 31628542 · abstract read
  • Open-label trial in people (19) · sample size not reported · Compared with not stated in the abstract · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 33433716 · abstract read
Moderate evidence

On the scalp the answer came out differently — two half-head trials found more density on the PRP side

Same procedure, different answers on the face and the scalp. That is why this entry stands apart.

The 2016 trial (Dermatol Surg) was a randomised, placebo-controlled, double-blind half-head study in 25 people with androgenetic alopecia. PRP went into one half of the head and placebo into the other, three times, one month apart.

Six months after the first session:

  • anagen hairs, telogen hairs, hair density and terminal hair density all differed significantly from baseline (p < .05)
  • hair density was also higher on the PRP side than on the control side (p < .05)

The 2021 trial (J Cosmet Dermatol) was a randomised, placebo-controlled, double-blind half-head study at Southern Medical University in China, with 52 people who had androgenetic alopecia. At six months, mean hair count, density, diameter and the proportion of anagen hairs were all significantly better than on the control side.

So why nothing on the face and something on the scalp?

We will not claim to know. But one place where the designs part is plain to see.

  • The facial trial's endpoint was a score given by masked doctors looking at photographs — fine lines, pigmentation, roughness, dullness.
  • The scalp trials' endpoint was a count — hairs per cm², and their thickness.

The distinction this site keeps returning to shows up here intact. What can be counted registers small differences; a score given by eye does not. Whether the difference seen on the scalp was absent on the face, or present and unmeasured, these two pairs of trials cannot settle.

Why we did not attach 'strong evidence'.

By the rule as written, the conditions are met: two randomised controlled trials, an endpoint that is not self-assessment, no manufacturer paying. We held it down anyway.

  • 25 people and 52. The trials behind that same badge on minoxidil had 352 and 381.
  • Both are half-head designs. What was injected came out of platelets, so there is no guarantee the other side was untouched. If it was, the gap between the sides comes out smaller than it really is — which runs against PRP here, but the design is still not clean.
  • Above all, the single word 'PRP' points at different things in different studies. Platelet concentration, spin conditions and activation method are not standardised.

Sometimes the rule would let something through and we hold it down anyway. This is one of those places.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 25 participants · 26 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint clinical events (cancers, lesion counts) PMID 27035501 · abstract read
  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 52 participants · 26 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint clinical events (cancers, lesion counts) PMID 33752252 · abstract read

Known risks

  • Bruising, swelling, pain and redness at the injection sites are common.
  • Because it uses your own blood, the risk of a foreign-body reaction is considered low, but the infection risk inherent in drawing blood and injecting it remains.
  • We have not verified the full range and frequency of adverse events reported across the trials above.
  • Blood disorders and anticoagulant use affect whether the procedure is appropriate. That judgement belongs to clinicians.

What is not established

  • Platelet concentration, centrifugation settings and activation method differ between studies. The single word 'PRP' does not denote the same thing throughout. This is the single biggest obstacle to comparing results.
  • How long any effect lasts is not established. The 2020 review's phrase was 'at least temporarily'.
  • How many sessions are appropriate — we found no established source.
  • We have not yet opened the original Korean regulatory classification, so it is left as 'being verified'.
  • With 19 people analysed, the split-face trial leaves open the possibility that a small difference was missed.

Whether to have it done is a decision to make with a doctor.

What this article relies on

Unless marked otherwise, a paper was read to the abstract. Only papers whose full text we opened are marked as such.

  1. PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16