Retinoid · Hydroxypinacolone Retinoate
HPR: sold as a 'gentle retinoid', and we could not find a human trial of it alone
The human material we found is one 8-week study of a serum containing retinol, HPR, peptides and silybin. And that abstract states neither the number of participants nor a control group. All the authors work at one cosmetics company's research centre. There is no trial of HPR alone on this page.
Last checked Sep 21, 2026
Start here
- What it is
An ester of retinoic acid. It appears on ingredient lists as Hydroxypinacolone Retinoate and is also sold under the name 'granactive retinoid'.
- What it is used for
Serums sold for wrinkles and texture. It travels with the phrase 'gentle retinoid'.
- How it is said to work
It is said to bind retinoic acid receptors directly, without needing the conversion steps retinol goes through in the skin.
There are no numbers and no citations in this box. What has been established, and how far, is below.
At a glance
- In pregnancy
- ⚠ Do not use
- Irritation
- Low
- Daytime use
- ✗ Night only
- How well established
- Not established
- Concentration studied
- Not disclosed
- Length of the studies
- 8 weeks
Not a measurement — reported irritation grouped into five steps. It varies between people. If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, check with a doctor or pharmacist before use. This page is not medical advice.
“Concentration studied” and “Length of the studies” are taken straight from the research on this page. They are not a recommended dose, and the figure for each finding is written out in the text.
This is not how large the effect is but how well confirmed it is. It shows the highest grade among the findings on this page.
HPR is an ester of retinoic acid. This site's retinoid shelf already holds retinol, retinaldehyde, tretinoin and adapalene; HPR is the recent arrival among them.
Start with how it is sold: as effective as retinol and less irritating. What is offered in support is a mechanism — retinol has to be converted through retinaldehyde into retinoic acid inside the skin, whereas HPR is said to bind the receptor directly.
This site keeps mechanism and result apart. A mechanism being plausible and a result being shown in people are different sentences.
So we looked for human data on HPR by itself. We did not find any.
What we found is one study of a serum with four actives in it. And reading that abstract turned up several more things worth writing down — no participant count, no mention of a control, and every author at one cosmetics company.
None of which means this ingredient does not work. As this site keeps writing, no evidence is not the same as no effect. It is only that this is as far as this page can go.
Contents
What is established
The same ingredient at a different strength, in a different formula, is a different product. These are the conditions the studies used.
The human material is only from a serum with four actives in it
A 2026 study in J Cosmet Dermatol.
What was used is a serum containing retinol plus HPR plus peptides plus silybin. The clinical part is an 8-week study in middle-aged Chinese women with mild photoageing.
Reported result: the serum significantly improved wrinkles, elasticity, hydration, barrier function and pigmentation, with excellent tolerability.
Four things about how to read it.
First, HPR was not measured alone. A four-active serum was used. And one of those four, retinol, is among the better-evidenced ingredients on this site. If this serum improved wrinkles, retinol having done the work is the first possibility that comes to mind. This design cannot separate them.
The paper itself states its aim as characterising a combination — that HPR's combined use with retinol remains poorly characterised. So what this study asked about is the combination, not HPR.
Second, the abstract gives no participant count. This site does not invent numbers it does not have, which is why the participant field on the badge above is empty.
Third, the abstract does not mention a control. It says only that efficacy was assessed in an 8-week study. Whether it was compared against a placebo serum, whether people were randomised, or whether before was compared with after, we cannot tell. So the comparator field on the badge reads 'not stated'.
As we write repeatedly on other pages, comparing before with after and no control means time, expectation and the season are all counted as the product's work.
Fourth, every author works at one cosmetics company's research and innovation centre. And the paper declares no conflicts of interest. We mark the affiliation itself on the badge as 'industry funding'.
Hence 'not established'. Not that the ingredient does nothing — that this material lets us say nothing about HPR.
- Open-label trial in people · sample size not reported · 8 weeks · Compared with not stated in the abstract · Funding manufacturer-funded · Endpoint instrument measurement PMID 41450017
The mechanism work came from cells and excised skin, not from people
The mechanistic part of the same study. It did not come from people, so we give it its own entry.
- transcriptomic profiling in a keratinocyte-fibroblast co-culture
- protein expression analysis in UV-exposed ex vivo skin models (pieces of skin removed from the body)
Reported results:
- retinol plus HPR activated TGF-β/Smad signalling more than retinol alone, and raised extracellular matrix gene expression
- adding silybin further promoted collagen and elastin synthesis
Why this has its own entry.
This is the only part that directly compares 'retinol plus HPR' against 'retinol alone'. The clinical part contains no such comparison.
But this is not people.
Signalling being more active in cells in a dish and in a removed piece of skin sits several steps away from fewer wrinkles on the face of someone who applied it. In between lie getting through skin, the concentration actually used, individual variation, and time.
What this site guards against most is using laboratory results as if they were human effects. So we write the kind of material onto the badge as it is — the badge above reads 'ex vivo'.
This entry is 'not established' too. Readable as mechanism; not readable as evidence about people.
- Excised-skin study — not a result from applying it to skin · Funding manufacturer-funded PMID 41450017
How to use it
- Use it at night. That is the usual practice for retinoids.
- The study ran 8 weeks. Retinoids are generally judged over longer than that.
- We do not state a concentration. The abstract does not give the serum's HPR content.
- Do not layer it with acids on the same day. With glycolic acid, salicylic acid and mandelic acid, irritation adds up.
- If you want a well-evidenced retinoid, this is not the page. See retinol and retinaldehyde, and on the prescription side tretinoin and adapalene.
- 'Gentle' may also mean 'weaker'. This material cannot separate being less irritating from doing less.
Cautions
- Avoid in pregnancy. Avoiding retinoids during pregnancy is the usual advice, and we found no material that would place HPR differently.
- The usual retinoid irritation (dryness, flaking, redness, stinging) is possible. The study above reported excellent tolerability, but it is a report that states neither a participant count nor a control.
- Do not use it during the day. Night use is the usual practice for this family.
- We could not find a human trial of HPR alone. It is the largest hole on this page.
- We could not confirm its Korean classification from primary sources.
With a new ingredient, apply a small amount somewhere inconspicuous, such as the inner arm, for two days first. Stop if it reddens or stings.
Related skin concerns
What this article relies on
- PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16