Antioxidant · Glutathione
Glutathione: one small trial for the topical form; the oral form was not significant
In a 46-person split-face comparison, topical glutathione lowered the melanin index more than placebo. In a separate 83-person, 12-week oral trial, the difference from placebo was not statistically significant. A 2025 systematic review points at the gap between how much this is used and what has been shown.
Last checked Sep 20, 2026
At a glance
- In pregnancy
- Not established
- Irritation
- Minimal
- Daytime use
- ✓ Fine
- How well established
- Moderate evidence
- Concentration studied
- Not disclosed
- Length of the studies
- 8–12 weeks
Not a measurement — reported irritation grouped into five steps. It varies between people.
“Concentration studied” and “Length of the studies” are taken straight from the research on this page. They are not a recommended dose, and the figure for each finding is written out in the text.
This is not how large the effect is but how well confirmed it is. It shows the highest grade among the findings on this page.
Glutathione is an antioxidant the body makes for itself — a small molecule of three amino acids, involved in detoxification in the liver.
The interest in skin comes from something seen in the laboratory: it is said to shift melanin synthesis away from the dark pigment (eumelanin) toward the lighter one (pheomelanin).
In Korea it is sold most widely under the name 'baek-ok' — as creams, as supplements, and as injections.
This page covers only the topical and oral forms. Injections are given in clinics, so they belong to a different layer of this site, and their evidence is thinner still.
One thing first. Applying it and swallowing it are not the same question. A shared name does not let a result carry from one to the other. The two are separated below.
Contents
What is established
The same ingredient at a different strength, in a different formula, is a different product. These are the conditions the studies used.
Topical: melanin index fell in a 46-person split-face comparison
This is a 2021 trial from Makassar, Indonesia. 46 people were split into two groups, one receiving oral placebo and one oral glutathione. Every participant also applied topical placebo to one side of the face and topical glutathione to the other.
Over 8 weeks, melanin index (MI) and L* were measured every two weeks with a mexameter and a chromameter — instrument readings, not a questionnaire.
The result: the combination group (oral plus topical) did significantly better than placebo on melanin index and L* (P < .05). The authors concluded the combination may beat either alone.
Three cautions in reading it.
First, the abstract does not state the concentration of the topical preparation. Without knowing what percentage was applied, there is no way to check whether a product on a shelf matches the trial. This site does not estimate concentrations it does not know.
Second, it ran 8 weeks. Pigment moves slowly, and a difference an instrument picks up at 8 weeks is not guaranteed to be a difference you see in a mirror.
Third, it enrolled 46 people, and it is the only randomised trial of topical glutathione we found. A single trial cannot rule out chance.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · 46 participants · 8 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint instrument measurement PMID 33871071
Oral: no significant difference from placebo in an 83-person, 12-week trial
This is a 2021 multicentre trial in Indonesia, run at three teaching-hospital dermatology clinics. 83 people aged 33 to 50 completed it.
Participants were randomised to a glutathione supplement or placebo capsules for 12 weeks. Every four weeks, pigmented spots (ultraviolet and polarised) and skin tone were measured with a Janus facial analysis system.
Here is the result as reported.
Reductions in ultraviolet spots in certain subgroups, in polarised spots and in skin tone were larger in the glutathione group, but the difference was not statistically significant. The authors concluded it was 'slightly beneficial in particular subgroups, but the results were not statistically significant' and that further research is required.
And there is one more limitation built into the design. What people swallowed was not glutathione alone but a combination of glutathione plus ascorbic acid, alpha-lipoic acid and zinc.
So even if this trial had come out significant, it could not have told you which component did it. It did not come out significant, so that question never arose.
'Oral glutathione lightens skin' is not a sentence this trial supports.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · 83 participants · 12 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint instrument measurement PMID 34840651
A 2025 systematic review: there is a gap between use and evidence
A 2025 systematic review in the International Journal of Dermatology examined glutathione as a skin-lightening agent and in melasma.
The phrase that best captures where this ingredient stands comes from a 2026 review of all three routes — intravenous, oral and topical — which calls it an 'evidence-practice gap.'
It is a shape we meet often in this layer: a plausible mechanism is observed in the laboratory, the mechanism becomes the marketing copy, and the step of confirming it in people gets skipped.
That is not the same as 'it does not work.' It means the large, well-designed trial has not been done. And when something this widely sold has no such trial, that absence can itself mean somebody would be inconvenienced by an answer either way.
If you are looking for something for pigment, thiamidol, tranexamic acid and cysteamine are ahead of it on both the number and the design of their trials.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · sample size not reported · Compared with not stated in the abstract · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 39444151
Glutathione is not among Korea's nine listed whitening actives
In Korea, nine ingredients are listed in the functional cosmetics review rule (Annex 4) as accepted for a 'helps whiten skin' claim without submitting efficacy data of your own: broussonetia extract, arbutin, ethyl ascorbyl ether, licorice extract (oil-soluble), ascorbyl glucoside, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, niacinamide, alpha-bisabolol and ascorbyl tetraisopalmitate.
Glutathione is not on that list. A product making the claim would have to go through individual review.
The oral form sits in a different category again: supplements and cosmetics are governed by separate rules. Check the labelling to see which category a product falls under.
How to use it
- The topical trial applied it once a day for 8 weeks. The concentration is not in the abstract.
- Sunscreen has to come with it. Without it, little is left of any pigment ingredient.
- If you are considering an oral product, start from the fact that the trial above used a combination supplement and was not significant.
- Niacinamide is on Korea's listed actives and is gentle; pairing is natural.
- If pigment is the goal, thiamidol has more trials behind it.
Cautions
- We found no notable adverse-event reports for topical use. It sits among the low-irritation ingredients.
- In the oral trial, mild side effects in the first four weeks were reported at a rate similar to placebo.
- This page does not cover the injected route. The safety of intravenous glutathione has drawn cautions from regulators in several countries, and whether to have it is a decision to make with a doctor.
- We found no data on use in pregnancy.
With a new ingredient, apply a small amount somewhere inconspicuous, such as the inner arm, for two days first. Stop if it reddens or stings.
Related skin concerns
What this article relies on
- PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16
- 기능성화장품 심사에 관한 규정 [별표 4] 자료제출이 생략되는 기능성화장품의 종류 — 식품의약품안전처고시 제2025-88호식품의약품안전처 · 시행 2025-12-16 · Checked on 2026-09-16