Antioxidant · Tocopherol
Tocopherol: on scars it did not help, and 33% developed contact dermatitis
In a 1999 double-blind trial that split each surgical scar in half, **vitamin E had no effect or actually made things worse in 90% of cases, and 33% developed contact dermatitis.** The authors concluded that its use on surgical wounds should be discouraged. In a six-month trial it **absorbed into skin readily but left the lesions unchanged.**
Last checked Sep 17, 2026
- In pregnancy
- Not established
- Irritation
- Moderate
- Daytime use
- ✓ Fine
Not a measurement — reported irritation grouped into five steps. It varies between people.
Tocopherol is the major lipid-soluble antioxidant in skin. Since that was established, it has been tried on almost every skin problem imaginable.
What came of those attempts is the subject of this page — and this is one of the most negative pages on this site.
One distinction first. This page covers topical vitamin E only. Oral vitamin E is a different subject, and it has been studied alongside other antioxidants in separate trials.
Also, in many products tocopherol is there as an antioxidant preservative rather than as an active — it is added to stop the oils in a formula going rancid. Seeing it on a label does not mean it was put there for an effect on skin.
Contents
What is established
The same ingredient at a different strength, in a different formula, is a different product. These are the conditions the studies used.
In 90% of cases there was no effect, or it got worse
The 1999 trial has a very clean design. The scars of fifteen patients who had undergone skin cancer excision were divided into parts A and B. Part A got a plain emollient ointment (Aquaphor); part B got the same ointment mixed with vitamin E, twice daily for four weeks. Double-blinded, and the comparison happens within one person's own scar.
At weeks 1, 4 and 12 the physician and the patient each judged independently which side looked better, and a third blinded investigator reviewed photographs.
The results, in the authors' own words:
In 90% of the cases in this study, topical vitamin E either had no effect on, or actually worsened, the cosmetic appearance of scars. Of the patients studied, 33% developed a contact dermatitis to the vitamin E.
And the conclusion: use of topical vitamin E on surgical wounds should be discouraged.
This is a small trial of fifteen people. It cannot settle the matter alone, which is why the 2016 systematic review sits beside it.
That review took prospective studies only and found six. Three reported significant improvement in scar appearance (one used vitamin E as monotherapy in white children; two used it as combination therapy in adults), and the other three found no significant improvement with monotherapy. Two of the six reported adverse events: contact dermatitis, and increased itching and rash.
The authors' conclusion: there is not yet sufficient evidence that monotherapy with topical vitamin E has a significant beneficial effect on scar appearance to justify its widespread use.
This is why the item is graded 'not established'. Not because nobody looked — because people looked and it did not hold up.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · 15 participants · 12 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 10417589
- Randomised controlled trial in people (6) · sample size not reported · Compared with not stated in the abstract · Funding not declared · Endpoint scores from blinded assessors PMID 26977069
It definitely got in, and the lesions stayed the same
The 2009 study is unusual for a specific reason. It separates 'the ingredient entered the skin' from 'the ingredient worked', inside one trial.
The contralateral arms of volunteers with actinic keratoses were randomly assigned: 12.5% DL-alpha-tocopherol cream on one, placebo cream on the other, for six months.
Absorption was not in doubt. Plasma concentrations did not change, but skin levels were highly elevated (P < .001). What was applied crossed the stratum corneum and reached tissue.
The lesions, however:
- The number of actinic keratoses declined insignificantly in both the placebo and treatment arms.
- p53 protein expression and proliferating cell nuclear antigen did not change significantly.
- Polyamines (putrescine, spermidine, spermine and total) did decrease significantly.
The authors' sentence: six months of application did not significantly reduce the number of pre-existing actinic keratoses. They add that the polyamine reductions are directionally consistent with inhibiting tumour formation.
How to read this matters. In cosmetic writing, 'penetration' is often used as if it were evidence of effect. This trial shows, on one person's two arms, that penetration can be confirmed and the outcome still not move.
- Randomised controlled trial in people · sample size not reported · 26 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint clinical events (cancers, lesion counts) PMID 19336724
In many products this is a preservative antioxidant, not an active
One fact is worth knowing when you see tocopherol on a label.
Tocopherol is a lipid-soluble antioxidant, and so it is used very widely to stop the oils in a product going rancid. The small amount of tocopherol in an oil, a balm or a cream is usually there for that.
The same ingredient can be doing two jobs — protecting the product, or doing something to skin. An ingredient list does not tell you which. You can only guess from position, and one line near the bottom usually means the former.
So 'contains vitamin E' on a package often has no connection to the trials above. Those used concentrations chosen for effect — the 2009 trial used 12.5%.
Formulas pairing it with vitamin C are also common, on the account that the two regenerate each other. What has been shown for that combination in human skin is covered separately on this site's ascorbic acid page.
How to use it
- We do not suggest it for scars. The authors of the 1999 trial concluded against it, and the 2016 review found the evidence insufficient to justify monotherapy.
- Its presence as an antioxidant in a formula is not a problem; it keeps the product stable for longer.
- The trials above ran from four weeks to six months.
- Testing on a small area such as the inner forearm first is sensible. See the cautions below.
Cautions
- Contact dermatitis is relatively common. 33% of the 15 people in the 1999 trial developed it — a conspicuously high rate among the ingredients on this site.
- Two of the six studies in the 2016 review also reported contact dermatitis and increased itching and rash.
- Applying it to wounds or surgical sites is a clinical matter.
- We found no established data on use during pregnancy.
- It is not a notified functional active.
With a new ingredient, apply a small amount somewhere inconspicuous, such as the inner arm, for two days first. Stop if it reddens or stings.
Related skin concerns
What this article relies on
- PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16