Home
Ingredient Beauty Benefits

Soothing · An ingredient class — not a single line on an ingredient list

Aloe vera: its best evidence is in surgical wounds, not in cosmetics

In a double-blind trial of 12 skin-graft donor sites, **epithelialisation was significantly faster: 11.5 days against 13.67.** But in the same trial, **pain was not significantly reduced.** And we found no trial of aloe for cosmetic outcomes — wrinkles, pigment, elasticity.

Last checked Sep 17, 2026

In pregnancy
Not established
Irritation
Minimal
Daytime use
Fine

Not a measurement — reported irritation grouped into five steps. It varies between people.

Korean classification Being checkedThe regulatory class has not yet been confirmed against a primary document. It will be filled in once it is.

Aloe vera is one of the oldest and most widely used plant ingredients there is — familiar as the gel that goes on sunburn.

We treat it as a class rather than a single ingredient. Ingredient lists carry aloe barbadensis leaf juice, leaf extract and leaf powder separately, at varying amounts. And the trials describe what they used only as a preparation: 'aloe gel', '30% aloe cream'. Pinning one INCI line on it would send readers looking for a name that is not on their label.

The most important thing on this page is where the evidence sits. Aloe's clinical data is concentrated in wounds and burns, and is almost absent for cosmetic outcomes.

Contents
  1. Donor sites epithelialised two days sooner
  2. In the same trial, pain did not go down
  3. A 30% aloe cream and a 20% urea cream came out the same
  4. We found no trial of cosmetic outcomes

What is established

The same ingredient at a different strength, in a different formula, is a different product. These are the conditions the studies used.

Early research

Donor sites epithelialised two days sooner

A 2018 double-blind, randomised, controlled trial in Thailand. Twelve patients with 24 donor sites after split-thickness skin graft harvesting from the thigh were divided between aloe and placebo. Each person contributed two sites, which matches conditions well.

Time to complete epithelialisation was 11.5 ± 1.45 days with aloe and 13.67 ± 1.61 days with placebo (p < .05).

The same paper carries a systematic review. Five articles met the inclusion criteria: four in burns, one in graft donor sites. Three of the four burn studies showed improved epithelialisation and one did not. In the donor-site study, the control differed significantly from both aloe and placebo, but the healing rate itself was not statistically different between groups.

How to read this item: twelve people. And the five pooled studies do not all point the same way. The direction is broadly positive, but the scale is small and the results are mixed.

Also, the wounds here are surgically created wounds. That is a different state from the intact skin a cosmetic goes on.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 12 participants · 2 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint clinical events (cancers, lesion counts) PMID 29649056
  • Open-label trial in people (5) · sample size not reported · Compared with not stated in the abstract · Funding not declared · Endpoint clinical events (cancers, lesion counts) PMID 29649056
Not established

In the same trial, pain did not go down

The same 2018 trial also measured pain — a visual analogue scale after dressing changes.

Aloe 17.18 ± 13.17; placebo 18.63 ± 11.20. No statistical significance between groups.

The authors' conclusion separates the two precisely: topical aloe vera gel significantly accelerated donor-site healing but did not show significant pain relief.

There is a reason this sits as its own item. Even within one trial, the answer changes with what you measure. Epithelialisation is something you count; pain is a score someone reports. Collapsing both into 'aloe works' erases that difference.

And since many people reach for aloe expecting soothing, it is worth being plain: what this trial established was healing speed, not soothing.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 12 participants · 2 weeks · Compared with vehicle (same formula minus the active) · Funding not declared · Endpoint self-reported improvement PMID 29649056
Early research

A 30% aloe cream and a 20% urea cream came out the same

A 2026 randomised trial in Indonesia in 35 patients with chronic kidney disease on haemodialysis. A 30% aloe vera cream or a 20% urea cream was applied to both arms for four weeks, with corneometer readings and an overall dry skin (ODS) score taken weekly.

Both creams significantly increased hydration and reduced the dryness score from baseline (p < .05). But no significant difference was found between the two (p > .05).

Thirty-five people cannot demonstrate 'no difference' — with a small sample, a real difference can easily fail to reach significance. So the result is not 'they are equal' but 'at this size we could not find a difference'.

There is also no untreated arm in this trial. That both creams beat their own baseline cannot be separated from the effect of applying anything consistently for four weeks.

The population matters too: xerosis in dialysis patients has different causes, and does not transfer straight across to ordinary dry skin.

  • Randomised controlled trial in people · 35 participants · 4 weeks · Compared with another active ingredient · Funding not declared · Endpoint instrument measurement PMID 42340432
Not established

We found no trial of cosmetic outcomes

The human clinical data we found for aloe clusters in wounds, burns and xerosis.

We found no randomised trial of aloe alone for cosmetic outcomes — wrinkles, pigmentation, elasticity, pores.

Products containing aloe have been tested. One trial used a lotion for intertrigo, for instance — but that lotion also contained tapioca starch, shea butter extract, argan oil, rosehip oil and allantoin. That trial cannot separate which ingredient did the work.

To be exact about what this means: it does not mean aloe has no effect. It means we have not yet found a properly designed trial pointed at cosmetic outcomes.

This is the most important item on the page. Aloe is widely used and has been for a long time, but being widely used and being demonstrated are different things.

How to use it

  • Check the form and the amount. A product with aloe leaf juice at the top of the list and one with a single line of leaf extract near the bottom are different objects.
  • The concentration in the trials above was 30%, in a cream. Retail products usually do not disclose theirs.
  • The trials above ran 2–4 weeks.
  • Many people use it expecting soothing. As above, soothing (pain relief) is the part that was not demonstrated.

Cautions

  • Irritation reports are uncommon, but as a botanical it does produce contact allergy reports.
  • Putting it on wounds or burns is a clinical matter. The trials above were run under supervised conditions.
  • We found no established data on use during pregnancy.
  • Oral aloe is outside the scope of this page. It is an entirely different subject with its own gastrointestinal cautions.
  • It is not a notified functional active.

With a new ingredient, apply a small amount somewhere inconspicuous, such as the inner arm, for two days first. Stop if it reddens or stings.

Related skin concerns

What this article relies on

  1. PubMed — 미국 국립의학도서관 문헌 데이터베이스National Library of Medicine · Checked on 2026-09-16